is the person benefitting from a trust.

Activities of Daily Living - ADLs

are daily, routine skills an individual needs in order to function.  Examples include:  eating, bathing, moving, toileting and grooming.

Day Training & Habilitation Program - DT&H

is a licensed organization that assists individuals with disabilities to develop and maintain life skills, participate in community life, and engage in activities of their own choosing.

Department of Human Resources - DHS

provides health care, economic assistance and other essential services for those who do not have the resources to meet their basic needs and are least able to help themselves.

Developmental Disability - DD

is a mental and/or physical condition that manifests before age 22, substantially affects functioning in several major life activities, and usually lasts through life.

Employment Network - EN

is an entity that contracts with the Social Security Administration (SSA) that provides and coordinates the delivery of necessary services to Social Security disability beneficiaries participating in the Ticket to Work program.

Formal Supports

are community supports for individuals with disabilities that are provided by services and programs.

Global Developmental Delay

is a significant lag in meeting important developmental milestones, including:  physical, cognitive, behavioral and social development.

Informal Supports

are community supports for individuals with disabilities that are provided by family, friends and social network groups.

Instrumental Activities of Daily Living - ADLs

are basic skills an individual needs in order to function.  Examples include:  shopping, managing fnances, essential household chores, planning and preparing meals.

Intermediate Care Facility for Persons with Developmental Disabilities - ICF DD

is a residential facility or licensed health care institution that provides health and rehabilitatiave services for persons with developmental disabilities or related conditinos who require active treatment.

Irrevocable Trust

is a trust that cannot be changed or cancelled after it has been created.

Medical Assistance - MA

is a publicly funded health care program for individuals who meet certain income and other criteria, including persons with disabilities.

Minnesota Department of Health - MDH

is a state agency whose mission is to protect, maintain and improve the health of all Minnesotans.

Nursing Facility - NF

is a facility or part of a facility licensed to provide nursing care for persons who are unable to properly care for themselves.

Parental Fee

is a monthly amount paid by parents of children under 18 accessing TEFRA.  It is based on family income and size.

Personal Care Assistant/Assistance - PCA

provides day-to-day assistance and support to individuals with disablities to help them be more independent in their homes and in the community.

Plan for Achieving Self Support - PASS

is a Supplemental Security Income (SSI) work initiative that lets individuals with disabilities set aside money and other assets for items or services to reach specific work goals.

Related Condition

is a condition closely related to a developmental disability that is severe, chronic, results in impairment of general intellectual functioning or adaptive behavior, requires treatment or services similar to those required for persons with developmental disabilities, manifests before age 22, is likely to continue indefinitely, is not attributable to mental illness, and results in substantial functioning limitations.

Revocable Trust

is a trust that can be changed or cancelled after it has been created.

Social Security Administration - SSA

is a federal agency that administers Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) programs.  These two major programs provide cash benefits to persons with disabilities.

Social Security Disability Income - SSDI

is a program under Retirement, Survivor and Disablity Insurance (RSDI) that provides cash benefits to individuals who have a disabilty and have worked a certain number of quarters or had a parent or spouse who worked a certain number of quarters and have paid into the Social Security System.  SSDI helps offset the costs of food, clothing and shelter with monthly benefits.


is an amount of money that a person enrolled in a Minnesota Health Care Program (MHCP) is required to pay before they are eligble for Medical Assistance (MA).

State Medical Review Team - SMRT

is a division of the Department of Human Services (DHS) that makes disability determinations using criteria from the Social Security Administration (SSA).

Supplemental Security Income - SSI

is a federal needs-based program for children and adults who have been been able to work or have not worked enough to pay into the Social Security System.  SSI helps to offset the costs of food, clothing and shelter with monthly benefit payments.

Tax Equity Fairness and Responsibility Act - TEFRA

is a component of Medical Assistance (MA) that helps cover health care costs for children with disabiilties.  Only the child's income is used to determine eligibility; however there may be parental fees, depending on family income and size.


is the person or entity responsible for the management and distribution of the assets of a trust.

Where to Start

Step 1

Definitions of terminology highlighted in Green Italics can be found in the right sidebar.Contact Washington County Developmental Disabilities Social Services at 651-430-6484.

You will be asked some basic questions to see if your child could be eligible for services:

  • Is your child testing more than two standard deviations below the mean in two global areas of functioning, one of which is cognition, and is at risk of a developmental disability?
  • Has your child been assessed and diagnosed by a psychologist as having global developmental delays?
  • Does your child have a related condition that results in impairment of general intellectual functioning or adaptive behavior similar to that of persons with developmental disabilities?
  • If your child is over 5 years old, has he/she had an IQ test been done within the last 3 years with a score of 70 or below, or received a diagnosis of a related condition? 

A child who has a medical condition without a developmental disability may not qualify for services.

Step 2

If your child meets the basic criteria, you will be sent intake forms to complete. Once completed, a developmental disabilities intake social worker will review the information and make a determination on eligibility within 35 days of receiving the application.

Step 3

If your child qualifies for services, an ongoing social worker (also called a case manager) will be assigned to work with your family and will help you develop a plan to meet your child’s needs. 

The social worker will: 

  • provide information and help access services and programs available for your child.
  • develop a service plan for your child.
  • monitor services provided for your child.
  • advocate for your child

If your child does not qualify for services and you feel he/she should be eligible, you can appeal the county’s decision. 

Screening Documents & Instructions: 

Department of Human Services – Developmental Disabilities Screening Document

Screening Document Codebook (gives instructions and examples for each category for completing  screening document)

Want to Learn More?

DHS Community-Based Services Manual